How to watch the Queen’s funeral: Live stream online and on TV

More than 4.1 billion people are expected to turn to their TVs and streaming services tomorrow to watch the Queen’s funeral around the world. Hundreds of broadcasters will carry special programs and live streams of the event with coverage of every minute from the time Queen Elizabeth II’s coffin is removed from Westminster Hall to the time Her Majesty is laid to rest at Windsor Castle. Here’s how to watch the Queen’s funeral live wherever you are.

How to watch the Queen’s funeral

Date: monday september 19

Time: 11am BST / 6am ET / 3:30pm IST / 8pm AEST

Free streams: BBC iPlayer (opens in a new tab)| BBC News YouTube (opens in a new tab)

While three of Britain’s major broadcasters (BBC, ITV and Sky) will show the Queen’s funeral on TV, it’s no surprise that the BBC will be showing the most comprehensive coverage. Special BBC programming will start at 8am (BST) on BBC One and BBC Two on TV, on BBC Radio and on iPlayer and BBC Sounds as well. The transmission is set to end at 5 p.m. BST with BBC News.

BBC coverage will allow viewers to follow the entire event, including the processions to Westminster Abbey, Wellington’s Arch, the hearse to Windsor and the final route of Her Majesty’s body from Long Walk in Windsor, to the Castle and on to Her Majesty’s Final. resting place at the Saint-Georges chapel.

There is cable and non-cable television coverage of the Queen’s funeral in the United States, as well as online and free viewing. You can also watch the Queen’s funeral for free in Canada, Australia and much of the Commonwealth. Read on for details on how to watch the Queen’s funeral from anywhere.

Watch the Queen’s funeral: free live stream from anywhere

All UK broadcasters who have chosen to broadcast the Queen’s funeral live will do so for free. Coverage from BBC News and Sky News will be available via their YouTube channels, so people abroad will also be able to watch the event live as broadcast by UK media.

In Australia, there will be free live broadcasts on Channel 9. CBC will broadcast full, free coverage of the state funeral in Canada. In the United States, non-cable subscribers will be able to watch the event for free on CNN’s website without having to log in with their TV details.

Full Queen’s Funeral Schedule

All times are in BST.

  • 6:30 am The queen’s preparation is coming to an end.
  • 10:44 am The Queen’s coffin is taken to Westminster Abbey.
  • 11am Queen Elizabeth II’s state funeral is about to begin.
  • 11:55 a.m. There is a national silence of two minutes.
  • 12:15 p.m. Public procession as Her Majesty is taken to Wellington Arch.
  • 1 p.m. Her Majesty is transferred to a hearse and taken to Windsor Castle.
  • 3:10 p.m. The Queen’s coffin arrives in Windsor and walks up the long walk to St George’s Chapel where Her Majesty will be buried next to Prince Philip.

british flag

How to watch the Queen’s funeral in the UK

How to watch a BBC stream from anywhere in the world

While the Queen’s funeral will be shown on TV channels around the world, British citizens currently abroad may still wish to watch the coverage on the BBC instead. While BBC News coverage should be available worldwide via the BBC website and YouTube channels, if you find yourself locked out on your device you may need to use a VPN.

A VPN is software for your computer or smart device that allows you to stream as if you were anywhere, in this case the UK. There are many VPN providers. As a general rule, we suggest a paid service. We evaluate ExpressVPN (opens in a new tab) like the best.

American flag

How to watch the Queen’s funeral in the US

In the United States, viewers can watch the Queen’s funeral live on NBC, CNN, ABC and Fox News. BBC America will also broadcast the state funeral at Westminster Abbey live from 4am ET / 1am PT / 9am BST.

Britbox subscribers can access the BBC live stream, and C-SPAN will have live coverage from 2:30 a.m. PT, streaming here. You can also create a free account Peacock TV account and watch Sky News’ international coverage.

Australia flag

How to watch the Queen’s funeral in Australia

canadian flag

How to watch the Queen’s funeral in Canada

new zealand flag

How to watch the Queen’s funeral in New Zealand

flag of india

How to watch the Queen’s funeral in India

Can I attend the Queen’s funeral?

Both Monday services will be closed to the public.

The general public will be able to watch the procession which takes place after the end of the Queen’s funeral at 12pm BST. The coffin will be placed on the gun carriage and taken to Wellington Arch.

Tube services will start at around 5.30am and run for an extra hour in the evening to help crowds out of central London. Westminster, St James’s Park and Hyde Park Corner tube stations will be closed for most of the morning.

London is expected to be ‘full’ for the first time on Monday, so it’s best to watch the Queen’s funeral online.

The public will be invited to follow NHS doctors and nurses as the coffin is carried to Windsor Castle.

When is the Queen’s funeral?

  • London, UK – 11am BST
  • New York, USA – 6 a.m. ET
  • Los Angeles, USA – 3:00 a.m. PT
  • Canberra, Australia – 8 p.m. AEST
  • Auckland, New Zealand – 10 p.m. NZST
  • New Delhi, India – 3:30 p.m. IST
  • Beijing, China – 5:00 a.m. CST
  • Tokyo, Japan – 7 p.m. JST
  • Islamabad, Pakistan – 3pm PKT
  • Lagos, Nigeria – 11:00 a.m. WAT
  • Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea – 8 p.m. PGT

State funeral service details

Tomorrow’s events begin with the Queen’s funeral procession. At 6:30 a.m., the Queen’s Ceremony will end. At 10.44am, Her Majesty’s coffin will be transported from Westminster Hall to Westminster Abbey atop the gun carriage which was used for the funerals of her father, George V, and Sir Winston Churchill.

Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, and his brother, William, the new Prince of Wales, will once again walk side by side behind the Queen’s coffin.

The service will begin at 11 a.m. BST and will last one hour. The Order of Service will include music and readings chosen by the Queen herself. The Last Post will be played around 11:55.

The Queen’s funeral will end at 12pm BST, after which the nation, the Commonwealth and the millions of people watching around the world will observe a two-minute silence.

Britain’s longest-reigning monarch will be buried alongside her husband of 73 years, Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, at the King George VI Memorial Chapel in Windsor. The Queen’s piper, Pipe Major Paul Burns, will play the late monarch as her coffin is lowered to her final resting place.

Comments are closed.